Concertisti Classica, la musica classica in Italia
Classical Music in Italy
Close this search box.
Korean Jae Hong Park wins the 63rd Ferruccio Busoni Piano Competition
The Second Prize awarded to Do-Hyun Kim, also from Korea, the Third Prize to the Austrian Lukas Sternath
The international jury made up of Nareh Arghamanyan (Armenia), Alessio Bax (Italy - United States), Federico Colli (Italy), Francesco Filidei (Italy), Till Janczukowicz (Germany), Hélène Mercier (Canada), Eliane Rodriguez (Brazil), Alexander Romanovsky (Ukraine - Italy), Mikhail Rudy (France) and chaired by Louis Lortie (Canada) announced the winners of the 63rd Busoni Competition.

Of the First Prize the 22-year-old South Korean pianist was awarded Jae Hong Park, an assignment that is in itself an event, since the 'Busoni' often does not receive the First Prize - in fact, in 62 editions there were only 30 First Prizes.

Second Prize to Do-Hyun Kim, born in 1994, also South Korean, while the Third Prize it has been attributed to the twenty-year-old Austrian pianist Lukas Sternath.

Also worth mentioning are the remaining awards: the Fourth Prize assigned to the Italian Serena Valluzzi (* 1994), on Fifth Prize to  Vladimir Petrov (Russia - Mexico), while they ranked sixth ex aequo Italian Francesco Granata (* 1998) and Ukrainian Illia Ovcharenko.

Special Awards

The winner Jae Hong Park it also won four Special Prizes: the Award for the best interpretation of a work by Ferruccio Busoni, the Special Chamber Music Award, and the Awards Alice Tartarotti is Keyboard Career Development Prize which are assigned to the first classified.

The runner-up Do-Hyun Kim conquers the Special Prize for the interpretation of contemporary piano music, while the third place Lukas Sternath, goes on Marisa Windisch Award, intended for the youngest of the six finalists.

The Audience Award (awarded by online voting) goes to Vladimir Petrov, that of Youth Jury to Dina Ivanova (Russia).

Twenty-eight pianists competed in Bolzano in the final rehearsals of the Busoni Competition from 24 August to 3 September, the day of the final held at the Teatro Comunale and broadcast live by Rai 5. Coming from ten different countries, they were selected in 2020 among 506 candidates registered from all over the world.

The three pianists who reached the finals passed two solos and a chamber final rehearsal before taking the stage of the Municipal Theater of Bolzano where they played with the Haydn Orchestra conducted by Arvo Volmer.


Jae Hong Park, born in 1999, he is the winner of the First Prize of the Gina Bachauer International Piano Competition for Young Artists and of the Cleveland International Piano Competition for Young Artists. He was also a finalist in the Arthur Rubinstein International Piano Masters Competition and winner of the fourth prize at the Ettlingen International Competition.

He has given concerts in several countries including Italy, Argentina, the Netherlands, Poland, Spain and the United States. He has performed with the Israel Philharmonic Orchestra, the Jerusalem Camerata, the Utah Symphony Orchestra and many others. He has been invited to give recitals at the Washington Piano Festival, the Gina Bachauer Piano Festival, the Grachten Festival and other prestigious events.

He is currently studying at the Korea National University of Arts with Prof. Daejin Kim.


The Ferruccio Busoni International Piano Competition

The prestigious Busoni Competition, 72 years of history, is one of the most important piano competitions on the world scene. It was founded in 1949 by Cesare Nordio, then director of the Claudio Monteverdi Conservatory in Bolzano, to commemorate the 25th anniversary of the death of the great pianist and composer Ferruccio Busoni (Empoli 1866 - Berlin 1924).

Bolzano, a bridge between the two great Italian and German musical civilizations, was the ideal place to pay homage to the role and influence that Ferruccio Busoni, an Italian artist, had in Germany at the beginning of the century. Nordio immediately found the support of Arturo Benedetti Michelangeli for his project for a great international piano competition.

The Ferruccio Busoni International Piano Competition began on 12 September 1949. The Honorary Committee included the names of Claudio Arrau, Wilhelm Backhaus, Arturo Benedetti Michelangeli, Alexander Borowski, Robert Casadesus, Alfred Cortot, Eduardo Del Pueyo, Edwin Fischer, Walther Gieseking, Josè Iturbi, Dinu Lipatti, Arthur Rubinstein, Rudolf Serkin, Nikolai Orloff, Egon Petri, Gino Tagliapietra, Carlo Zecchi.

He participated in the first edition Alfred Brendel, who finished fourth. The first prize was not awarded for several years. The Roman pianist was the first to win it Sergio Perticaroli in 1952.

In 1956, edition won by the Austrian Jörg Demus, the precocious talent of Maurizio Pollini, then fourteen, who replaced Carlo Vidusso in the execution of the works of the composition competition chosen by the jury. The following year, 1957, the sixteen year old won Martha Argerich, who in Bolzano received the first international recognition of his talent. They also appear in the roll of honor Roberto Cappello (1976), Louis Lortie (1984), today President of the Jury, Lilya Zilberstein (1987), Anna Kravtchenko (1992), Roberto Cominati (1993), Alexander Romanovsky (2001), Joseph Andaloro (2004-5).

The Busoni Competition, up to 2001 on an annual basis, since 2002 due to the ever-increasing number of registrations, takes place over two years.


506 candidates from all over the world registered for the 63rd Busoni Piano Competition. Among these, 28 pianists from ten different countries were selected for participation in the final rehearsals in Bolzano. After the two solo rehearsals, seven competitors were admitted to the chamber rehearsal, and from this the three participants in the final with the orchestra were selected.

Source Classical Concertists

  • Not to be missed




    Concert Season